Board of Directors

United Way of Greater Stark County is a volunteer-driven organization. Its Board of Directors is composed of knowledgeable community leaders is representative of the entire Greater Stark County area and the communities we serve. The Board establishes policy and allocates resources to assure that United Way is properly managed. Volunteers who serve on Impact Councils determine how funds will be invested into health and human service programs. These volunteers are people just like you. Those volunteer groups, which include people with expertise in each area, make recommendations on priorities, identify programs that will help our community reach those goals, and even recommend partnerships or changes in public policy that should be adopted to influence change. Based on community needs, Impact Councils allocate funds to programs that work to address the root causes of those issues. United Way's Board of Directors makes final funding decision approval. United Way has a group of dedicated staff members that oversee the day to day operations of the organization.



Chair of the Board, Philip L. Francis*
Vice President and Trust Officer,
Huntington National Bank

1st Vice Chair, Michael L. Howard*
Judge Retired, Stark County Family Court

2nd Vice Chair, Sandy Rapp*
Vice President & Chief Information Officer
The Timken Company

Treasurer, Mark Sterling*
President & Chief Executive Officer,
The Beaver Excavating Company

Corresponding Secretary, Geoff Karcher*
President, The Karcher Group


Rabbi Jon Adland        
Rabbi, Temple Israel

Elsa Cave
Principal Supplier Quality
Development Engineer, Diebold

William R. Cook, Former Chair
Senior Vice President, JP Morgan Chase Bank, N.A.

Ken Douglas, CPA
Chair of Audit Commitee
CPA Assurance, CliftonLarsonAllen

Robert B. Fernandez
Chair, Financial Stability Impact Council
Special Projects Director, Stark County Family Court

Randy Frame
Regional President, Ohio Edison

Derek Gordon
Owner Representative
Stark County District Library

Cindy Hickey
Vice President, Public Relations & Marketing
Mercy Medical Foundation

Ann Hunt
Community Volunteer

Brad McKain
Refining General Manager
Marathon Petroleum Company LP

Eric Murray
VP - Total Rewards, TimkenSteel Corp.

Lucia Pileggi
2018 Campaign Chair
Private Bank Executive for Eastern Ohio, KeyBank

James Porter
Publisher/CEO, Canton Repository & Massillon
    Independent; GM of Alliance Review

Todd Pugh
Owner & Founder, Enviroscapes

Joyce Salapack
Chief Probation Officer, Stark County Family Court

Ryan Schmidt
Founder & President, SKYCATCHFIRE

Denise Seacrist, Ph.D.
Dean & Chief Administrative Officer, Kent State University at Stark

William C. Shivers
2015 Campaign Chair
President, Greater Akron/Canton &
    Mahoning Valley Regions, Huntington Bank

Linda Smith*
2017 Campaign Co-Chair & Chair, Women United
Licensed Agent, Sirak Financial Services

Kevin Smith*
2017 Campaign Co-Chair
President, PPI Graphics/Innovative Trends

Fonda Williams
Deputy Mayor, City of Canton

* Executive Committee member
+ Outgoing Board Member